arrowenvelopefacebookinstagramlinked-intwitteryelpyoutube

What Was The Hottest New Restaurant in Your State in 2017?

Happy (almost) New Year! As 2017 comes to an end, we look back at all the good things that happened in the big 2-0-1-7 and pay tribute to all the wonderful local businesses that opened this year.

To create this list, our experts in the Yelp Data Lab identified the restaurants that were added to Yelp in 2017 and ranked the highest in their state, based on a formula that takes into account the number of reviews and star ratings. And we noticed a couple of trends…

Greek and Mediterranean restaurants! Many new openings in 2017 were inspired by southern European cuisine, with top spots opening up in states such as Connecticut, Nevada and Ohio. Falafel, gyros and shawarma, oh my!

 Seems like fast casual style dining was in and sit down restaurants were out in 2017. Many new restaurants are copying from the playbook of chains such as Chipotle and shifting to a model that does not offer full table service. These spots ranged in types of fare as well, including empanadas, poke, Korean and traditional barbecue. Something for everyone to love and grab fast.

Check out the list yourself. The spots below are among the best restaurants where you can eat a meal in every state that opened in 2017 so you can see what goodness this year brought to your neck of the woods.

State

City

Biz Name

Yelp Link

AK Anchorage Froth & Forage Coffeehouse and Eatery https://www.yelp.com/biz/froth-and-forage-coffeehouse-and-eatery-anchorage
AL Foley The Forge Pizzeria https://www.yelp.com/biz/the-forge-pizzeria-foley
AR Bentonville Ozark Mountain Bagel https://www.yelp.com/biz/ozark-mountain-bagel-bentonville
AZ San Tan Valley Lola Empanada https://www.yelp.com/biz/lola-empanada-san-tan-valley
CA Los Angeles Strada Eateria & Coffee https://www.yelp.com/biz/strada-eateria-and-coffee-los-angeles
CO Denver Turtle Boat https://www.yelp.com/biz/turtle-boat-denver-4
CT Plantsville Crazy Greek https://www.yelp.com/biz/crazy-greek-plantsville-2
DC Washington Falafel Inc https://www.yelp.com/biz/falafel-inc-washington-9
DE Middletown Marlena’s Mediterranean Deli https://www.yelp.com/biz/marlenas-mediterranean-deli-middletown
FL Sarasota Fresh Catch Fish Market & Grill https://www.yelp.com/biz/fresh-catch-fish-market-and-grill-sarasota
GA Alpharetta The Local Wood Fired Grill https://www.yelp.com/biz/the-local-wood-fired-grill-alpharetta
HI Honolulu Tonkatsu Tamafuji https://www.yelp.com/biz/tonkatsu-tamafuji-honolulu-9
IA Des Moines St. Kilda Cafe and Bakery https://www.yelp.com/biz/st-kilda-cafe-and-bakery-des-moines
ID Nampa Sushi Sushi https://www.yelp.com/biz/sushi-sushi-nampa-5
IL Chicago La Nonna https://www.yelp.com/biz/la-nonna-chicago
IN Indianapolis CoreLife Eatery https://www.yelp.com/biz/corelife-eatery-indianapolis
KS Olathe Hong Kong Star Restaurant https://www.yelp.com/biz/hong-kong-star-restaurant-olathe-2
KY Louisville Kathmandu Kitchen & Bar https://www.yelp.com/biz/kathmandu-kitchen-and-bar-louisville-4
LA Lafayette Zorbas https://www.yelp.com/biz/zorbas-lafayette-3
MA Dedham Roadworthy https://www.yelp.com/biz/roadworthy-dedham
MD Baltimore Pho Bac http://www.yelp.com/biz/pho-bac-baltimore
ME Portland Coffee ME Up http://www.yelp.com/biz/coffee-me-up-portland-2
MI Munising Tracey’s http://www.yelp.com/biz/traceys-munising
MN Saint Paul Brunson’s Pub https://www.yelp.com/biz/brunsons-pub-saint-paul
MO Branson Gettin’ Basted http://www.yelp.com/biz/gettin-basted-branson
MS Pearl Ichiban Hibachi & Sushi – Pearl http://www.yelp.com/biz/ichiban-hibachi-and-sushi-pearl-pearl
MT Big Sky Horn & Cantle http://www.yelp.com/biz/horn-and-cantle-big-sky-2
NC Wilmington Savorez http://www.yelp.com/biz/savorez-wilmington
ND Bismarck Noodlezip http://www.yelp.com/biz/noodlezip-bismarck
NE Omaha Saddle Creek Breakfast Club http://www.yelp.com/biz/saddle-creek-breakfast-club-omaha
NH Manchester Daw Kun Thai http://www.yelp.com/biz/daw-kun-thai-manchester
NJ Pompton Lakes Chanos Latin Kitchen https://www.yelp.com/biz/chanos-latin-kitchen-pompton-lakes
NM Los Ranchos de Albuquerque Fresh Bistro http://www.yelp.com/biz/fresh-bistro-los-ranchos-de-albuquerque-3
NV Henderson HUMMUS http://www.yelp.com/biz/hummus-henderson
NY New York Mughlai https://www.yelp.com/biz/mughlai-new-york-2
OH Cleveland Boaz Cafe https://www.yelp.com/biz/boaz-cafe-cleveland
OK Hochatown Rolling Fork Takery http://www.yelp.com/biz/rolling-fork-takery-hochatown
OR Bend Bos Taurus http://www.yelp.com/biz/bos-taurus-bend
PA Lancaster Callaloo Trinidadian Kitchen http://www.yelp.com/biz/callaloo-trinidadian-kitchen-lancaster-2
RI Providence Garden Of Eve Restaurant https://www.yelp.com/biz/garden-of-eve-restaurant-providence-2
SC Charleston Stella’s http://www.yelp.com/biz/stellas-charleston
SD Custer Dakota BBQ http://www.yelp.com/biz/dakota-bbq-custer-3
TN Murfreesboro Cup Pop http://www.yelp.com/biz/cup-pop-murfreesboro
TX El Paso Viet Restaurant http://www.yelp.com/biz/viet-restaurant-el-paso
UT Taylorsville Chopfuku Sushi Bar and Asian Cuisine https://www.yelp.com/biz/chopfuku-sushi-bar-and-asian-cuisine-taylorsville-2
VA Manassas Park Tortino Mare http://www.yelp.com/biz/tortino-mare-manassas-park
VT Jamaica North Country General http://www.yelp.com/biz/north-country-general-jamaica-2
WA Seattle FOB Poke Bar http://www.yelp.com/biz/fob-poke-bar-seattle-2
WI Milwaukee Santino’s Little Italy http://www.yelp.com/biz/santinos-little-italy-milwaukee
WV Bridgeport Ali’s Mediterranean Cuisine http://www.yelp.com/biz/alis-mediterranean-cuisine-bridgeport
WY Jackson Glorietta Trattoria http://www.yelp.com/biz/glorietta-trattoria-jackson